Graduate School Information

Propose of Foundation

The United Graduate School of Agricultural Sciences (UGSAS) was founded in 1989 as an independent three-year Doctoral Course at Tottori University. The member Universities are the Graduate Schools (Master’s Course) of three Universities, Tottori, Shimane and Yamaguchi, in the Chugoku district of Japan. The School consists of three Doctoral Courses: Bioproduction and Bioenvironmental SciencesBioresource and Life Sciences and Global Dryland Science. Each Doctoral Course contains one to four Research Divisions, and each Division offers basic and applied research programs.

The mission of the UGSAS is to extend, evaluate, preserve, and transmit ideas and knowledge through teaching and research at an advanced level for the benefit of the Chugoku district, and for the good of the wider national and international community. UGSAS accepts not only admissions of graduate students and qualified researchers from private and public organizations in Japan, but also foreign students and researchers, especially those from developing countries. In addition, UGSAS cooperates with Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS) and Tottori University of Environmental Studies for promoting education and research activities.